SAN ANTONIO, Texas (September 28, 2017) — The Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Annual Reception and Banquet will recognize those who have made significant technical and professional contributions to the industry, and those who have contributed exceptional service and leadership to the society. The banquet will take place during the SPE Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition (ATCE) on Tuesday, October 10 from 6:30 to 10:00 at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center in San Antonio, Texas.

“During the toughest of times, our SPE members prove themselves as innovative thinkers, showing remarkable reserve and resilience,” said 2017 SPE President Janeen Judah. “Their work not only helped our industry out of the downturn, but also created a new wave of operational efficiency. They deserve the utmost appreciation and praise. Day in and day out, our members continue to inspire and propel our industry forward. It’s an honor to recognize their successes and contributions within SPE and the industry.”

This year’s program will recognize the following members:

Distinguished Membership
Sidqi Abu-khamsin
Nabeel Al-afaleg
Matthew Balhoff
Jose Bashbush
John de Wardt
Effiom Edet
Steve Flew
Barrett Hanson
Mehdi Matt Honarpour
Hui-hai Liu
Rustom Mody
Nobuo Morita
Quoc Nguyen
Okurerie Ogedegbe
Sara Ortwein
Donald Paul
Teri Reed
Sidhartha Sur
Ruud Weijermars
Murtaza Ziauddin

Honorary Membership
Akhil Datta-Gupta
Anil Kumar
Robert Moore
Alexander Neyin
Dean Oliver
Sidney S. Smith, Sr.
Dongxiao Zhang

In addition, the event will acknowledge the following 2017 SPE award recipients:

Distinguished Lifetime Achievement Award
Amin Nasser

John Franklin Carll Award
Mukul Sharma

Anthony F. Lucas Gold Medal
Karen Schou Pedersen

Lester C. Uren Award
Quoc Nguyen

DeGolyer Distinguished Service Medal
Sameh Macary

Charles F. Rand Memorial Gold Medal
Nasir Al-Naimi

Robert Earl McConnell Award
Charles Williams

Public Service Award
Saka Matemilola

Distinguished Service Award
Colin A Black
Maria Capello
Frederic Jean-Bernard Guinot
Anuj Gupta

Distinguished Achievement Award for Petroleum Engineering Faculty
Ramona Graves

Young Member Outstanding Service Award
Abd Elrahman
Ali Alkhatib
Alexey Borisenko
Pringle Egbe
Augustina Ovuema
Babatunde Yusuf

Cedric K. Ferguson Medal
Lu Chi
Zoya Heidari

Completions Optimization and Technology Award
D. V. Satya Gupta

Drilling Engineering Award
Eric van Oort

Formation Evaluation Award
Mark Proett

Health, Safety, Security, Environment, and Social Responsibility Award
J. Jack Hinton

Management and Information Award
Reidar Bratvold

Production and Operations Award
Kenneth Sorbie

Projects, Facilities, and Construction Award
Jean-Francois Saint-Marcoux

Reservoir Description and Dynamics Award
Tayfun Babadagli